NUEVA GENERACION

Image

Crianza 2008

13.5% Vol

Region: D.O Rioja

Varieties: Tempranillo, Graciano & Mazuelo

Notes: Nice looking bottle with a slightly cloudy dark cherry colour. On the bottle it is written the score of 91 points from another wine reviewing but I can’t be sure if it’s for the same vintage, I tried it but for me it was let say not quite to my liking especially considering the price. Don’t get me wrong if you like a blended Crianza where the oaking dominates the fruit then this is for you, I do like the combination of grapes. Maybe being 2008 the oaking has mature further in the bottle than the winery had anticipated. On the bottle it describes a gentle astringency, which I would say is quite substantial (slightly heavy) and slightly grainy finish, though it does have long finish to it and its own personality. Quite a high note of spice and toasted wood (which may be what I don’t like so much) with rich dark mix berries, does benefit from some decanting but the flavour itself doesn’t dramaticaly change just smoothness. In the end you just have to try choosing a wine that suits your taste sometimes it can be a good wine just not suited to you. I have another bottle so will try again sometime. But don’t let it you stop trying!

Notas : Botella de aspecto agradable con un color ligeramente nublado cereza oscuro . En la botella está escrita una puntuación de 91 puntos de una conocida pagina web, pero no puedo estar seguro de si es por la misma añada, lo probé  pero para mí no es del todo de mi agrado sobre todo teniendo en cuenta el precio. No me entiendas mal si te gusta un Crianza donde la barrica domina a la fruta entonces es un vino para ti, me gusta la combinación de uvas. Tal vez siendo del 2008 ha madurado en botella un tiempo extra que la bodega no había anticipado. En la botella se describe una astringencia suave, yo diría que es bastante importante (un poco pesada) y ligeramente granulada, aunque tiene un final largo y su propia personalidad.  Altas notas de especias y madera tostada (que puede ser lo que no me gusta tanto) con una rica mezcla de bayas oscuras, se beneficia de cierta decantación pero el propio sabor no cambia dramáticamente solo lo suaviza. Al final sólo hay que tratar de elegir un vino que se adapte a su gusto a veces puede ser un buen vino que simplemente no se adapta a ti. Tengo otra botella para volver a probarlo alguna vez. Pero no deje que mi opinión le impida probarlo!

Value for money:  7.5 /  10

Quality: 87 points

Price: 6.5 euros

Leave a Reply

